Erik Truffaz - Bending New Corners (1999)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Erik Truffaz
Title Bending New Corners
Length 61:52 Discs: 1 Tracks: 10
Format HQ 192+ kbps Packaging Jewel Case
Label EMI Cat. Number 522123
Style Acid Jazz Rating
Recorded kwiecień 1999  at  Studio du Fion, Lausanne, Switzerland
Musicians Credits
Erik Truffaz trumpet
Patrick Muller digital piano
Marcello Giuliani bass
Marc Erbetta drums, percussion
Nya rap
Producer Nicolas Pflug
Mastering Alex Gopher
Track list
Sweet Mercy 05:14
Arroyo 06:30
More 06:12
Less 03:58
Siegfried 06:58
Bending New Corners 08:11
Betty 04:19
Minaret 06:00
Friendly Fire 04:20
And 10:10
ghost track - starts 5:25
_AMG Review (2 1/2):
An odd reissue of sorts, Bending New Corners combines tracks off two of trumpeter Erik Truffaz's previous albums. It is unclear why Blue Note felt the need to repackage these tracks yet again; however, here they are and they are worth a listen. Containing tracks from the sessions that produced The Mask and its European version, The Dream, Bending New Corners is a groove-oriented work that draws heavily on late-'60s and early-'70s Miles Davis. To these ends, Truffaz is a forward-thinking improviser with a plangent tone and knack for writing funky, modal compositions. Adding to the hip quotient, rapper Nya guests on a few tracks, delivering a gruff, philosophical vibe that is more G. Love than G Unit. Recorded in 1999, the tracks seem more connected to the post-rock, jazz-rap movements of the '90s; in the post-2000 world they don't feel as cutting edge as Truffaz would probably like them to seem. — Matt Collar