Herbie Hancock - The New Standard (rel.1997)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Herbie Hancock
Title The New Standard
Length 77:36 Discs: 1 Tracks: 11
Format HQ 192+ kbps Packaging Jewel Case
Label Verve Cat. Number 527 715-2
Style Fusion Rating
Musicians Credits
Herbie Hancock piano
Michael Brecker sax tenor
John Scofield guitars
Dave Holland bass
Jack DeJohnette drums
Don Alias congas
Oscar Brashear trumpet, fluegerhorn
Gene Cipriano horn, oboe
Lili Haydn violin
Gary Herbig flute, bass clarinet
Les Lovitt trumpet, fluegerhorn
Suzette Moriarty french horn
Sam Riney flute
Maurice Spears trombone
Cameron Stone cello
Margaret Wooten violin
Producer Herbie Hancock
Producer Guy Eckstine
Engineer Joel Moss
Engineer John Pace
Mastering Scott Hull
Track list
New York Minute (Kenley/Korchmar/Winding) 08:37
Mercy Street (Gabriel) 08:39
Norwegian Wood (Lennon/McCartney) 08:09
When Can I See You (Edmonds) 06:19
You've Got It Bad Girl (Wonder/Wright) 07:17
Love Is Stronger Than Pride (Adu/Hale/Matthewman) 08:02
Scarborough Fair (Garfunkel/Simon) 08:26
Thieves In The Temple (Prince) 07:35
All Apologies (Cobain) 05:10
Manhattan (Island Of Lights And Love) (Hancock) 04:08
Your Gold Teeth II (Becker/Fagen) 05:14
AMG Review by Scott Yanow (4):
On first glance this record would not seem to have much promise from a jazz standpoint. Herbie Hancock performs a set of tunes which include numbers from the likes of Peter Gabriel, Stevie Wonder, Sade, Paul Simon, Prince, the Beatles ("Norwegian Wood") and Kurt Cobain. However by adding vamps, reharmonizing the chord structures, sometimes quickly discarding the melodies and utilizing an all-star band, Hancock was able to transform the potentially unrewarding music into creative jazz. Hancock, who sticks to acoustic piano, shows that he is still in prime form, taking quite a few fiery solos. With Michael Brecker on tenor and surprisingly effective soprano, guitarist John Scofield, bassist Dave Holland, drummer Jack DeJohnette and percussionist Don Alias (along with an occasional horn or string section that was dubbed in later), the results are often quite hard-swinging and certainly never predictable. Although it is doubtful that any of these songs will ever become a jazz standard, Herbie Hancock has successfully created a memorable set of "new" music. Well worth investigating.

amazon: Japanese Release featuring his latest CD New Standard, and a Bonus CD Including Live Recordings from his 1996 Japanese Tour. Guest Appearances Include Dave Holland, Michael Brecker, Jack Dejohnette, Jon Scofield and Don Alias. Tracks Include 'thieve S', 'new York Minute', 'when Can I See You' and Eleven More.