Miles Davis - Amandla (1989)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Miles Davis
Title Amandla
Length 43:23 Discs: 1 Tracks: 8
Format CD Packaging Jewel Case
Label Warner Bros. Cat. Number 25873
Style Bop Rating
Recorded 1989 
Musicians Credits
Miles Davis trumpet
Marcus Miller Bass Guitar, Keyboards, Bass Clarinet
Kenny Garrett sax alto
Rick Margitza sax tenor
Jean-Paul Bourelly guitar
Paulinho da Costa percussion
Joe Sample piano
Omar Hakim drums
Don Alias percussion
Bashiri Johnson percussion
Joseph Foley guitar
John Bigham various instruments
Ricky Wellman drums
Billy 'Spaceman' Patterson el.guitar
Jason Miles synthesizers
Mino Cinelu percussion
George Duke keyboards
Michael Landau guitar
Producer Miles Davis
Producer Tommy LiPuma
Producer Marcus Miller
Producer George Duke
Track list
Catémbe (Miller) 05:37
Cobra (Duke) 05:16
Big Time (Miller) 05:41
Hannibal (Miller) 05:51
Jo-Jo (Miller) 04:51
Amandla (Miller) 05:21
Jilli (Bigham) 05:05
Mr. Pastorius (Miller) 05:41
AMG Review (4):
A particularly strong set by late-period Miles Davis, this set is highlighted by a surprisingly straightahead performance titled "Mr. Pastorius." In addition to Davis and his new altoist Kenny Garrett, various guests (including Marcus Miller, guitarist Jean Paul Boureiiy, Joey DeFrancesco on keyboards, Rick Margitza on tenor, pianist Joe Sample and bassist Foley) get their chances to play next to the great legend who is in top form. An excellent effort, it was really his last studio recording with his regular band. — Scott Yanow