Miles Davis - Decoy (1983)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Miles Davis
Title Decoy
Length 39:33 Discs: 1 Tracks: 7
Format CD Packaging Jewel Case
Label Columbia Cat. Number CK 38991
Style Bop Rating
Recorded 1983  at  Record Plant Studios, NYC
Musicians Credits
Miles Davis trumpet, synth.
Robert Irving III synth, el.drum
John Scofield el.guitar
Branford Marsalis sax soprano
Mino Cinelu percussion
Al Foster drums
Darryl 'The Munch' Jones el.bass
Bill Evans (s) sax soprano
Engineer Ronald F. Lorman
Engineer Tom Swift
Producer Jim Rose
Track list
Decoy (Irving) 08:34
Robot 415 (Davis/Irving) 01:10
Code M.D. (Irving) 05:58
Freaky Deaky (Davis) 04:35
What It Is [live] (Davis/Scofield) 04:32
That's Right (Davis/Scofield) 11:13
That's What Happened [live] (Davis/Scofield) 03:31
AMG Review (2 !!):
This rather streaky set of music features Davis with keyboardist Robert Irving III (who has since slipped into obscurity) and guitarist John Scofield contributing most of the compositions and the other solos. There are some moments of interest (Branford Marsalis is heard on some cuts on soprano) but it is doubtful if anyone will be reviving "Robot 415," "Freaky Deaky" or "Code M.D." anytime soon. — Scott Yanow His last great album
This was Miles Davis last great classic album, released in 1984. Its the best of his 1980's fusion attempts and sounds just great. John Scofield plays electric guitar and is amazing- later Scofield recordings didnt always have him sounding as fresh as he does here on Decoy. The CD sounds very good.~Reviewer: A music fan from Bronx, NYC