Jan Garbarek - Legend Of The Seven Dreams (1988)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Jan Garbarek
Title Legend Of The Seven Dreams
Length 54:45 Discs: 1 Tracks: 9
Format CD-R (copy) Packaging Jewel Case
Label ECM Cat. Number 837 344-2
Style General Jazz Rating
Recorded lipiec 1988  at  Rainbow Studio, Oslo
Musicians Credits
Jan Garbarek sax soprano, sax tenor, flute
Nana Vasconcelos percussion
Rainer Bruninghaus keyboards
Eberhard Weber bass
Engineer Jan Erik Kongshaug
Producer Manfred Eicher
Track list
He Comes From The North 13:37
Aichuri, The Song Man 05:03
Tongue Of Secrets 08:12
Brother Wind 08:07
It‘s Name Is Secret Road 01:48
Send Word 07:19
Voy Cantondo 06:55
Mirror Stone I 01:15
Mirror Stone II 02:29
_AMG Review:
Though in step with its time, this release suffers from excessive reliance on ambient synthesizers, which litter much of the recording, rendering it only slightly more interesting than many of the Windham Hill new age recordings of the same era. Unfortunate, because the disc opens with strength and gradually peters out by the end. The disc opens with "He Came From the North," which features a melody based on a traditional Lapp joik from the artist's native Norway and progresses into a longer section with an interplay that is both sparse and rhythmic. The sax line here is astonishingly beautiful. The second piece, "Alchuri, the Song Man," a sax and percussion piece, is energetic and lively as well. And from here the energy gradually diminishes. Much can be attributed to popular styles of the time, but this release simply does not stand up to other music of its genre that came later. — Mark W. B. Allender