Pat Metheny - Pat Metheny Group (1978)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Pat Metheny
Title Pat Metheny Group
Length 41:27 Discs: 1 Tracks: 6
Format CD Packaging Jewel Case
Label ECM Cat. Number N/A
Style Fusion Rating
Recorded styczeń 1978  at  Talent Studios, Oslo
Musicians Credits
Pat Metheny el.guitar
Lyle Mays piano, synth.
Mark Egan bass
Dan Gottlieb drums
Engineer Jan Erik Kongshaug
Producer Manfred Eicher
Track list
San Lorenzo (Mays/Metheny) 10:16
Phase Dance (Mays/Metheny) 08:25
Jaco (Metheny) 05:40
Aprilwind (Metheny) 02:09
April Joy (Metheny) 08:15
Lone Jack (Mays/Metheny) 06:42
_AMG Review (5):
The first recording by the Pat Metheny Group features the innovative guitarist along with keyboardist Lyle Mays, bassist Mark Egan, and drummer Dan Gottlieb. The music is quite distinctive, floating rather than swinging, electric but not rockish, and full of folkish melodies. The best known of these six Metheny-Mays originals are "Phase Dance" and "Jaco." This music grows in interest with each listen. — Scott Yanow