Weather Report - Mysterious Traveller (1973)
Front Cover Album Info
Artist/Composer Weather Report
Title Mysterious Traveller
Length 48:21 Discs: 1 Tracks: 7
Format CD Packaging Jewel Case
Label Columbia Cat. Number CK-32494
Style Fusion Rating
Recorded 1973  at  Devonshire Sound, North Hollywood, CA
Musicians Credits
Joe Zawinul vocals, keyboards, percussion
Wayne Shorter sax tenor, sax soprano
Alfonso Johnson bass
Ishmael Wilburn drums
Skip Hadden drums
Dom Um Romao percussion
Producer Joe Zawinul
Producer Wayne Shorter
Engineer Ron Malo
Track list
Nubian Sundance (Zawinul) 10:43
American Tango (Vitous/Zawinul) 03:44
Cucumber Slumber (Johnson/Zawinul) 08:23
Mysterious Traveller (Shorter) 07:21
Blackthorn Rose (Shorter) 05:04
Scarlet Woman (Johnson/Shorter/Zawinul) 05:44
Jungle Book (Zawinul) 07:22
AMG Review (4 1/2):
Weather Report's fourth recording finds Wayne Shorter (on soprano and tenor) taking a lesser role as Joe Zawinul begins to really dominate the group's sound. Most selections also include bassist Alphonso Johnson and drummer Ishmael Wilburn although the personnel shifts from track to track. "Nubian Sundance" adds several vocalists while "Blackthorn Rose" is a Shorter-Zawinul duet. Overall the music is pretty stimulating and sometimes adventurous; high-quality fusion from 1974. — Scott Yanow